NSW Wine Awards 2014

And the NSW Wine of the Year goes to….

Nick O’Leary 2013 Bolaro Shiraz

It was a trophy trifecta for the Hunter Valley and the Riverina, a quinella for Tumbarumba and Canberra District, and one apiece for the Hilltops and Orange regions but it was Nick O’Leary’s 2013 Bolaro Shiraz from the Canberra District that stole the show and took home the trophy for 2014 NSW Wine of the Year.

Nick O’Leary Wines is no newcomer to the NSW Wine Awards trophy winner’s podium having won the Trophy for Best Young Shiraz in 2010 for his Nick O’Leary Shiraz 2009, but this top gong for 2014 makes this win just a little more sweet.

Nick O’Leary, whose winery is located on the southern escarpment of Lake George near Bungendore, proudly sources all his fruit from small individual parcels located in and around the Canberra District.

Due for release this month, this third release Nick O’Leary 2013 Bolaro Shiraz, is a single vineyard wine from the acclaimed Fischer vineyard located to the east of Murrumbateman on free draining alluvial shale soils. One of the highest vineyards in the area, this site produces low yielding, immensely concentrated fruit, creating wines of structure and power.

The 2014 NSW Wine of the Year was selected from the 12 category winners:

Best Young Semillon – Silkman Wines 2014 Semillon (Hunter Valley) (RRP $25)

Best Young Riesling – Mount Majura Vineyard 2014 Riesling (Canberra District) (RRP $27)

Best Young Sauvignon Blanc – Colmar Estate 2014 Sauvignon Blanc (Orange) (RRP $24)

Best Young Chardonnay – Barwang Wines “842” 2012 Chardonnay (Tumbarumba) (RRP $35)

Best Young White Other Varieties – Bimbadgen Estate 2014 Vermentino (Hunter Valley) (RRP $24)

Best Mature Dry White – McGuigan Wines Vineyard Select 2005 Semillon (Hunter Valley) (RRP $65)

Best Sweet Wine – Calabria Family Wines “3 Bridges” 2008 Botrytis Semillon (Riverina) (RRP $25)

Best Sparkling Wine – Charles Sturt University 2010 Reserve Sparkling (Tumbarumba) (RRP $28)

Best Young Cabernet Sauvignon – Moppity Vineyards Estate 2013 Cabernet Sauvignon (RRP $30)

Best Young Shiraz – Nick O’Leary Wines 2013 Bolaro Shiraz (Canberra District) (RRP $55)

Best Young Red Other Varieties – Calabria Family Wines 2013 Private Bin Saint Macaire (Riverina) (RRP $15)

Best Mature Red – Nugan Estate Manuka Grove 2010 Vineyard Durif (Riverina) (RRP $23)

Tamburlaine Wines were also recognized for the Best Organic Wine of Show for their Tamburlaine Organic Reserve Sauvignon Blanc 2014 (Orange, NSW) (RRP $ 33).

Deputy Premier and Minister for Tourism and Major Events Troy Grant said, “I congratulate each of the twelve trophy winners representing six of our State’s outstanding wine regions at this year’s NSW Wine Awards.”

“The spread of achievements across the regions highlights the quality and diversity of wine on offer in cellar doors across the State, and reinforces NSW’s reputation as a world-class food and wine destination. The NSW Government is proud to support the NSW Wine Awards through our tourism and major events agency Destination NSW,” he said.

The winner of the 2013 Graham Gregory Award is Chris Barnes for his outstanding commitment and contribution to the industry. This trophy presented by NSW Minister for Primary Industries Minister Hodgkinson is a prestigious annual award named after the former NSW Agriculture Deputy Director-General, Graham Gregory, who is regarded as a significant pioneer of the NSW industry.

In keeping with the trend of recent years, the quality of wines entered in the annual New South Wine Awards judging continues to improve. This positive sentiment ensures that year on year entries too continue to rise and this year a record 828 wines were judged, 148 of which were deemed to be of silver or gold medal standard.

This year, the twelve trophies were awarded across 6 of New South Wales wine regions, representing both high altitude cooler regions to the warmer climate regions and across a broad range of varieties and styles. Many of the wines were from the standout 2013 and 2014 vintages that the industry has just experienced, and interestingly were largely from small and medium family owned wine companies.

“New South Wales Wine Awards continues to uncover exciting vinous gems each year as a result of the combination of established and innovative winemakers from the incredible array of terroirs we are blessed with. This is particularly exciting given the modern consumer is looking for quality with a difference. It would be great to see local wine trade and Sommeliers pick up on this trend.” commented Chair of Judges PJ Charteris in his first year in this esteemed role.

For the first time this year, judging took place in one of NSW’s wine regions, Riverina. “We feel that taking the judges to the regions for the first time has had a positive impact if the response from the Griffith winemakers is anything to go by. The judges were really impressed by the hospitality and the small goods produced by the region particularly” says Tom Ward, President NSW Wine.

The Gold Medal winning #topwines for 2014 are:

Audrey Wilkinson Winemakers Shiraz 2013
Angullong Shiraz 2013
Barwang Estate “842” Chardonnay 2012
Bimbadgen Estate Signature Semillon 2013
Bimbadgen Estate Vermentino 2014
Brokenwood Latara Vineyard Semillon 2009
Calabria Family Wines Private Bin Saint Macaire 2013
Calabria Family Wines 3 Bridges Golden Mist Semillon 2008
Carillion ‘The Volcanics’ Orange Cabernet Sauvignon 2012
Cellarmasters David Lowe Reserve Tumbarumba Chardonnay 2013
Cellarmasters Redemption Landmark Release Tumbarumba Chardonnay 2013
Chalkers Crossing Shiraz 2012
Charles Sturt Reserve Sparkling Pinot Noir Chardonnay 2010
Colmar Estate Sauvignon Blanc 2014
Cooks Lot Riesling Lot# 333 Riesling 2014
De Iuliis Shiraz 2013
Eden Road Chardonnay 2012
Lillypilly Noble Harvest 2012
McGuigan Bin 9000 Semillon 2014
McGuigan Bin 9000 Semillon 2013
McGuigan Personal Reserve Hunter Ridge Chardonnay 2013
McGuigan Vineyard Select Semillon 2005
McLeish Estate Chardonnay 2013
McWilliam’s Wines Appellation Shiraz 2013
Meerea Park Alexander Munro Semillon 2005
Moppity Vineyards Eclipse Shiraz 2013
Moppity Vineyards Lock & Key Cabernet Sauvignon 2013
Moppity Vineyards Estate Cabernet Sauvignon 2013
Mount Majura Vineyard Riesling 2014
Nick O’Leary Shiraz 2013
Nick O’Leary Bolaro Shiraz 2013
Nick O’Leary Shiraz 2012
Nugan Estate Manuka Grove Vineyard Durif 2010
Quarry Hill Lost Acre Tempranillo 2013
Robert Oatley Vineyards Montrose Black Shiraz 2013
Silkman Wines Semillon 2014
Silkman Wines Semillon 2013
Two Italian Boys Pinot Grigio 2014
Thomas Wines The OC Semillon 2014
Tinklers School Block Semillon 2013
Tyrrell’s HVD Semillon 2014

Tags: ,

Comments for this article

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply